The 49ers

I was living in Vermont at the time when I heard about the gold.  People from all over tried to get rich.  We were called the 49ers.

A lot of stores got built, and miners needed tools.  They very rarely found gold.  It was mostly the people who sold the tools who got rich.

It was so hard for me to mine, with the cold water on my legs.  A person tried to help with that.  His name was Levi.  Levi invented some very good jeans and sold them to miners.  The Levi company is still around today.

I had to build my own cabin and go hunting to survive.  A lot of people got sick and died.  Luckily, I survived.  I found some gold, and it was a very interesting experience.

The Gold Rush took place in California.  I bought land and stayed there.  One of the ways to get to California was going through Panama on the river, and then on an ocean boat.

That is the Gold Rush history.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *